- Motor Vehicle Information
- Buying / Selling a Vehicle
Buying / Selling a Vehicle
When a vehicle's ownership is transferred from one person to another, the back of the old title must be completed and properly assigned before licensing can take place. If a lien is shown, a properly signed/notarized release of lien is required. If there is not a lien on the vehicle, you will be mailed a new title by the state after you register the vehicle in your name. If a lien is reflected on the title application, the state will hold the title as an E-Title until the lien has been satisfied.
If the ownership is being transferred between immediate lineal family members, sales tax is not required and you are liable only for the registration fee and property taxes due on the vehicle. Lineal ascendants or descendants are: grandfather, grandmother, father, mother, son, daughter, adopted child, step child, grandchild, and the spouses of any of these. A brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece or nephew does not qualify for this exemption. The signatures of both parties must be on an Affidavit of Relationship Form (PDF), also available in the Treasurer's Office.
Special paperwork may be required by state law, however, if the transfer is occurring because of death, divorce or marriage.
Transferring a License Plate
If you are an established resident, you may transfer a valid license plate from an old to a new vehicle for the remainder of your licensing period. To be eligible to make the transfer, you must sell or trade your old vehicle within 60 days of buying a new one. You also must get a 60-day permit from a Kansas motor vehicle dealer or the Trego County Treasurer's office to drive the new vehicle while you are waiting to dispose of the old one.
When making out the paperwork to license your new vehicle, be sure your name is exactly the same as on your old title. If a spouse, son, or daughter is being added, they must be present to sign the application or you must have a Power of Attorney Form (PDF) from them. In addition to that paperwork, you need to bring to the Treasurer's office the current registration from your old vehicle.
To make a transfer, you must pay a $10.50 transfer fee, a $10 title fee, and any sales tax due. Depending on the year, make, and model of your new vehicle, you also may have to pay an additional property tax. In addition, you may have to pay a supplementary licensing fee if the new vehicle weighs more than the old one.
Refunding a License Plate
If you sell a vehicle before the end of your licensing period and the plate isn't being transferred to another vehicle, you may be eligible for a refund on part of the property taxes and registration that you have paid for the licensing period. Refunds are given for full months remaining on the registration year and must be over $5. It is very important that you apply for your refund as soon as possible. Trailer and moped plates are non-refundable. (RV trailer refunds are allowed). The State of Kansas issues Heavy Truck refunds. The required refund paperwork is available at the Treasurer's office.
You will need to bring the following:
- The metal license plate
- The current year registration
If you move out of the state of Kansas, you may be eligible for a refund on part of the property taxes that you have paid for the licensing period. Refunds are given for full months remaining on the registration year and must be over $5. It is very important that you apply for your refund as soon as possible.
You will need to mail in the following:
- The metal license plate
- A copy of the current Kansas owner registration
- A copy of the current Out-of-State registration
- A copy of current Out-of-State driver's license
- Completed refund application